+   -

BAHEP hosts hundreds of guests at spectacular
40th Anniversary Celebration 


More than 400 of the Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership’s closest friends joined together on Wednesday, Sept. 14, 2016, to celebrate the organization’s 40th anniversary.   
The Crystal Ballroom of South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center featured four large displays covered with specially selected photos spanning each of four eras: the Formative Years 1976-1991, Building the Foundation 1992-2001, Regional Leadership 2002-2008, and Expanding Influence 2009-Present. 

Monitors were set up in each corner of the ballroom that played outstanding videos produced by Space City Films showing footage of the four eras, as well. (The four videos, along with logos of each era sponsor, can be seen in the column on the right.)    
There were elaborate models provided by NASA Johnson Space Center and Lakewood Yacht Club member Frank Clements that were a feast for the eyes. Additional feasting included an elaborate buffet that garnered rave reviews for flavor and presentation.
A jazz trio, the "LabWorks” Band, provided enjoyable background music throughout the evening.  
The highlight of the event, however, was the program. Four speakers who have contributed greatly to BAHEP’s growth over the years shared their memories of the eras with a very attentive audience. (Listen to the speeches by clicking on the group photo of the speakers near the top of the column to the right.)    
Introduced by Dr. Bill Staples, president of the University of Houston-Clear Lake and emcee of the program, Bob Scott, chairman of the Clear Lake Area Economic Development Foundation (CLAEDF) from 1983-1986, spoke about the Formative Years. CLAEDF was rebranded as the Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership in 2003. 

     Dr. William A. (Bill) Staples                           Bob Scott
Joe Barlow, one of the founders of the organization who served on the board for over 25 years, remembered the years of Building the Foundation.
Sandy Johnson, president, Barrios Technology, served on the board from 1994-2011. She spoke of Regional Leadership. 
Current BAHEP President Bob Mitchell addressed Expanding Influence and how much economic development has changed in just a few short years.
 Joe Barlow                                    Sandy Johnson                                    Bob Mitchell
Jim Reinhartsen, president of CLAEDF/BAHEP from July 1992 through December 2007, was recognized with a heartfelt standing ovation for his outstanding leadership of the partnership.  
Jim Reinhartsen
Just before the program’s conclusion, in a surprise presentation, Mitchell gave the prestigious Presidential Award to Dr. Glenn B. Freedman for his unique guidance which has contributed greatly to BAHEP’s success over many years. It was a very special award which further enhanced an incredible evening.    
BAHEP’s spectacular 40th Anniversary Celebration will long be remembered. (To view photos from the celebration, please click on the flickr photo at the bottom of the column to the right.)

  Bob Mitchell (l) and Dr. Glenn B. Freedman

In addition to the era sponsors shown below each video, BAHEP sincerely appreciates the following sponsors who supported the 40th Anniversary Celebration
1976     Clear Lake Area Chamber of Commerce 
1977     MaximGroup
1978     CenterPoint Energy        
1979     Griffin Communications Group
1980     Diane Gillebaard
1981     CLC Properties
1982     Houston Methodist St. John Hospital
1983     Bob Scott
1984     Bob Scott
1985     Orbital ATK
1986     AeroSys, LLC
1987     KBRwyle           
1988     South Shore Harbour Resort & Conference Center
1989     AMOCO Federal Credit  Union
1990     Del Papa Distributing Company
1991     Griffin Partners, Inc.               
1992     Griffin Partners, Inc.               
1993     Stinger Ghaffarian Technologies (SGT)       
1994     Barlow Jones, LLP
1995     MEI Technologies, Inc.  

1996     GeoControl Systems, Inc.          
1997     Tom Brooker
1998     Gregg & Gregg, PC
1999     Dean & Draper Insurance Agency, LP   
2000     Barrios Technology           
2001     Lockwood, Andrews &  Newnam, Inc.        
2002     GB Tech, Inc.
2003     University of Houston-Clear Lake               
2004     University of Houston-Clear Lake               
2005     CLC Properties
2006     Logical Innovations, Inc.     
2007     Bowers & Sadler, LLP
2008     The Eye Clinic of Texas
2009     Jacobs
2010     Lockwood, Andrews & Newnam, Inc.          
2011     KBRwyle           
2012     Texas Citizens Bank
2013     Clear Lake Regional Medical Center          
2014     San Jacinto College District
2015     Moody National Bank
2016     The Boeing Company 
Graphics / Banners / Equipment
Entertainment / Commemorative Program
Exhibit Photos 
 NASA Johnson
Space Center

Event Photography

The 40th Anniversary Committee
The planning and staging of the 40th Anniversary Celebration required a considerable commitment from the members of the 40th Anniversary Committee. Their effort exemplifies the same dedication shown by so many supporters of CLAEDF and BAHEP over 40 years. A special thank you is also extended to BAHEP staff members C.A. Shields and Jimmy Spence whose work on the set-up and tear-down of the event, as well as providing technical expertise on building this web page, was invaluable.
Glenn Freedman, Ph.D.  
Eva deCardenas, Clear Creek Independent School District 
Mary Alys Cherry, Bay Area Houston Magazine 
Cindy Harreld DeWease, Clear Lake Area Chamber of Commerce 
Marcy Fryday, Lakewood Yacht Club 
Jane Gayle, Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership 
Diane Gillebaard, Community Liaison 
Roy Green, South Shore Harbour Resort & Conference Center 
Marc Havican, Space City Films 
Harriet Lukee, Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership 
Bob Mitchell, Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership 
Kathryn Paradis, Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership 
Louis Parker, Community Liaison 
Jim Sweeney, Minuteman Press—Bay Area 
Pat Potter Wilson, Ed.D., Community Liaison 
Horizontal Section Content comes here

Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
Print this page

+   -

Member Cities and Organizations

Clear Lake Shores Houston Nassau Bay Webster
Dickinson Kemah Pasadena Galveston County
El Lago La Porte Seabrook Harris County
Friendswood League City Taylor Lake Village Port Houston
Houston Airport System Morgan's Point Hitchcock

Santa Fe

Powered by Big Daddy Marketing © 2013 Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership